Hamilton County Schools Learning Communities

In large school systems, a sense of community can often get lostHamilton County Schools Learning Communities in the hustle and bustle of the day-to-day operation of schools. During community listening sessions in the past year, parents and community members expressed that Chattanooga and Hamilton County may have lost some community spirit and identity. To address this concern, Superintendent Dr. Bryan Johnson introduced the concept of placing schools into learning communities across the system to drive more cooperation between schools and build stronger relationships with neighborhoods around the schools.

Hamilton County Schools has named the new learning communities and a reorganization of academic support to serve the schools and the community better. The learning communities will be known as North River, Rock Point, Missionary Ridge, and Harrison Bay.

“These learning communities will foster a renewed spirit of cooperation between schools and will engage the community to benefit the children,” said Dr. Johnson. “The new learning communities will be the center of activity in the areas for parents and the business community and will refocus district support to maximize educational opportunities for children in our schools.”

 The Executive Directors of our Learning Communities:

  • Harrison Bay Community, Dr. John Tharp
  • Missionary Ridge Community, Dr. Larrie Reynolds
  • North River Community, Elaine Harper
  • Rock Point Community, Dr. Robert Sharpe

Administrative Assistant to Dr. Robert Sharpe & Dr. Larrie Reynolds:
Ms. Lori Bledsoe

Administrative Assistant to Dr. Elaine Harper &  Dr. John Tharp
Ms. Lisa Clements

  • The Opportunity Zone

     Stephanie Hinton - Executive Director of the Opportunity Zone
     Angela Keel - Administrative Assistant
     Office: (423) 498-7253

Opportunity Zone, Secondary Schools, Dr. Zac Brown
Opportunity Zone, Elementary Schools, Saunya Goss

Administrative Assistant to Dr. Zac Brown & Saunya Goss:
 Ms. Irene Pagnani